eskimommy

how to keep a tropical igloo from melting :)

Counting to 100 and other math games

on August 4, 2011

3 August 2011

Buchi can count to 100, hurray! His natural fascination towards numbers is really something that makes me smile because I have MAD (math anxiety disorder). This is why I chose a major that wouldn’t require me to sit through hours of calculus lessons. I see the practicality of math and I use a lot of math everyday: household budget, cooking measurements and time management. I’d be lost without my handy calculator (good thing this is available in all cellphones). I don’t really know where my lack of confidence comes from. I didn’t exactly fail my math exams (got pretty satisfactory grades actually and even aced the accounting subject).

Knowing that homeschooling Buchi would mean teaching him all subjects myself, I’m a bit nervous about my arithmetic abilities. Eug told me to appear confident so that the little one would think that math is easy and fun. As early as two, Buchi could count 1-10 in 4 languages. He liked The Count (Sesame street character) and would attempt to count everything (even hair). This puts me at ease because math lessons at this point are fun.

Here’s what constitutes our math lessons for now:

1. Dominoes: This teaches math comprehension, visual recognition and patterns. There are various domino games  that cover basic arithmetic concepts like addition.

2. Card games: There’s a lot you can do with a deck of cards. I let him sort by suit, color or number. He loves to play “Go Fish” or “Monkey monkey” (pair card game). He arranges the cards by order and sometimes plays solitaire. You can teach patterns, ordinal numbers, differences (high,low, more, less), addition, subtraction and even basic probability.

3. Bingo: Playing electronic bingo is so much fun. Aside from racing to cross out all the numbers in our cards, Buchi likes to shout out the number when it gets picked. It is the perfect way to practice pronunciation and number recognition.

4. Coins: We do a lot of pretend play with money: going to the bank, buying produce at the grocery, paying for food at the restaurant, shopping at the mall. This activity covers addition, subtraction, assigning values. You can even introduce the concept of saving for a rainy day and utilizing resources properly.

Leave a Reply

